CLASS Initiatives
Current Total
Class Participation
View Donor List
Christine Lindsey Abrams
Julianne Altieri
James Anderson
Tamara Babiuk
Elisabeth Biering
Heather Burke
Benjamin Canavan
Gabriel Cardona-Fox
Julius Clark
Maria Coello de Llobet
Deepika Dayal
Vanessa Dick
Katrina Donnelly
Cecile Dubois
Shin Ellis Yi
Katrina Ferreyra
Juan Ignacio Garcia de Motiloa
Cory Gnazzo
Ulrike Hauer
Margareth Hawley-Young
Monica Hencsey
Fatima Hewaidi
Thomas Hilse
Regis Huf
Kimberly Jackson
Owen Johns
Kate Joseph
Tedd Ladd
Veronique Lanthier
Christopher Lombardi
Raimund Magis
Christine Mark-Balan
George Mathew
Andrew McDowell
Catherine McKalip-Thompson
Kristien Michoel
Patricia Moll Kriese
Jennifer Morrissey
Thomas Palumbo
Charles Park
Melissa Pennings
Mary Philippakis
Lise Platou af Ekenstam
Joy Portella
Jo-Ellen Pozner Zeitlin
Ann Richter
Grant Rissler
Craig Robertson
Gerhard Sailler
Anja Schmidt
Lowell Schwartz
Michael Sessums
Alexander Severens
Lori Severens
Jennifer Shipley
Donna Situ
Juergen Stein
Iro Stephan
Eric Sylvers
Gillan Taddune
Marcello Tallarigo
Karissa Taylor Kovner
Luis Velasco
David Wexley
Andrew Young
Albert Zbily

While many class initiatives were started to celebrate an anniversary, the one launched by the class of 1996 has a peculiarity: it started right when they were students at the Bologna Center.

During academic year 1995-96, the class decided to act on the basis of a simple but very powerful observation, i.e. that one of the key dilemmas the developing world has to face is a chronic lack of trained personnel. This is due, most often, to the fact that financial constraints make it impossible for citizens of the developing countries to have access to higher education institutions in the developed world. However, not only would students from the developing world benefit greatly from the type of education those institutions can offer, but those very same institutions (and the Bologna Center among them) would certainly benefit as much from the wider perspective those students may contribute to the academic and extra-curricular debate.

The result of this observation is the African Fellowship initiative, established by the Bologna Class of 1996 but open to all those interested in helping future generations of African students to benefit from a SAIS education.

Since 2000, the first year the fellowship was disbursed, 14 students have benefitted from the African Fellowship.

View Fellowship Recipients

  • Fatuma Hani Ibrahim (Kenya) - 2022
    Recent SAIS Europe Graduate

  • Owulatosin Atala (Nigeria) - 2020, 2021
    Pathways Operations Manager at Amazon, Texas, USA

  • Nnenda Chinda (Nigeria) - 2019
    Junior Consultant (Government & Public Services) at Moorhouse, London , UK

  • Pa Sako Darboe (The Gambia) - 2017, 2018
    First Secretary, High Commission for the Republic of The Gambia, Washington, D.C.

  • Sasilkar Banu (Nigeria) - 2016, 2017
    Co-Founder at Sapel Gold Foundation, Washington, D.C.

  • Abdelghani El Gharras (Morocco) - 2008, 2009
    Senior Energy Analyst at L’Observatoire Mediterraneen de L’Energie (OME), Nanterre, France

  • Thiras Habtu (Eritrea) - 2007, 2008
    PhD student in African Studies, University of Vienna, Vienna, Austria

  • Nuredin Netabay (Eritrea) - 2006, 2007
    Graduate student, Joan B. Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies, University of Notre Dame Indiana, USA

  • Daniel Yeboah (Ghana) - 2004, 2005
    West Africa Institute (WAI)-Center for European Integration Studies (ZEI) Project Coordinator, West Africa Institute Praia, Cape Verde

  • Christophe Dongmo (Cameroon) - 2003, 2004
    Country Representative at Denis & Lenora Foretia Foundation Yaoundé, Cameroon

  • Dauda Foday Suma (Sierra Leone) - 2002, 2003
    Principal Industrial Development Officer, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

  • Asmaa Shalabi (Egypt) - 2001, 2002
    Senior Programme Management Officer, Executive Office of the Secretary General – United Nations, New York, USA

  • Victor Abiola (Nigeria) - 2000, 2001
    Global Head, Operational Risk, Corporate and Investment Bank at Standard Bank Group Johannesburg, South Africa

This year, the Class of 1996 Fellowship recipient is Ms. Unam Manzini from South Africa.

On their 25th anniversary, the class of 1996 decided to build on what they started while students. To celebrate this special reunion, they launched a new fundraising drive to endow a perpetual African Fellowship.

Classmates who are interested in joining this meaningful initiative should contact Clarissa Ronchi or Gabriel Cardona-Fox.

Make a pledge and/or a gift now on our Online Donations page.

How to Make a Tax Deductible Donation

SAIS Europe - Via Beniamino Andreatta, 3 - 40126 Bologna, Italy
© 2024
SAIS Europe
Via Beniamino Andreatta, 3
40126 Bologna, Italy
© 2024